A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara

This novel begins by telling the stories of four close college friends, but ultimately focuses on one of them in particular – Jude. He and his unspeakable past are the book’s fulcrum. Some parts made me cry and others made me nauseous. I wouldn’t have been able to read this novel if it had begun with Jude’s childhood, but it helped (unsure if that’s the right word?) that his adulthood was established first. I agree with criticism that “A Little Life” is a tome and begs for a severe edit. And like some other readers, I too wonder why Jude is so loved by his friends? I guess his physical beauty, his mysteriousness, and his obvious suffering make them want to save or help him.

Gwenamon says: Immensely depressing and sometimes overwritten, but I still liked it

About gwenamon

bookworm, confidante, creative director, cyclist, global wanderer, music lover, shutterbug, shoe shopper, snowboarder, writer, yoga geek. i'm also a very proud mama of a lil mister named james.
This entry was posted in I Read and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

