The Neapolitan Novels #2, #3 & #4 by Elena Ferrante

nea2nea3nea4.jpg

I read this series, starting with My Brilliant Friend, almost back to back. I don’t want to give much away, but I do agree with the accolades heaped on this unknown author. The books are incredible in their expanse, telling of the complicated friendship between Elena and Lila from childhood to old age.

My favourite is the second book – The Story of a New Name. The beach vacation is described so realistically and wonderfully, I felt I was there. I dislike the fourth book, The Story of the Lost Child because I find Elena (who’s viewpoint the stories are told from) very unsympathetic. However, it’s also the book that best shows how we’re only hearing about one side of the friendship. And – the ending! It’s so good. A pivotal childhood event comes full circle.

Gwenamon says: Must reads

About gwenamon

bookworm, confidante, creative director, cyclist, global wanderer, music lover, shutterbug, shoe shopper, snowboarder, writer, yoga geek. i'm also a very proud mama of a lil mister named james.
This entry was posted in I Read and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

