The Road by Cormac McCarthy

Extremely true to its title, “The Road” is the story of a father and son walking along a road to the coast in search of a better life after an apocalypse. And no surprise, this book is bleak. Very bleak. It’s also incredible, capturing the true force of human will and the sustaining need to hope. McCarthy’s writing, with its economy of language, is masterful and beautiful. I couldn’t put this book down, which meant that against my usual better judgement, I had to finish it on the subway. And I didn’t care that I got odd looks for my tears.

Gwenamon says: Now one of my faves of all time and when it’s referred to, I get a pang

About gwenamon

bookworm, confidante, creative director, cyclist, global wanderer, music lover, shutterbug, shoe shopper, snowboarder, writer, yoga geek. i'm also a very proud mama of a lil mister named james.
This entry was posted in I Read and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Road by Cormac McCarthy

  1. Pingback: No Country for Old Men by Cormac McCarthy | gwenonichi

Leave a Reply

