Two Balls of Wool

scarf for vanessa

I learned to knit around the time that Paul and I got together, almost eight years ago. For my first knitting project, I bought wool that should have been spun into a skein. I didn’t know and got it all knotted up. Horribly knotted up. I lost my patience when attempting to unravel the mess, and left the huge heap of knots on the kitchen table, telling Paul it was impossible, before heading out to meet a friend.

Imagine my surprise and delight when I came home to find the mess replaced with a neatly wrapped ball of unknotted wool. Not only did Paul’s wool-unravelling make me think for one of the first times that “He’s a keeper.”, I was struck by his calmness and patience. It must have taken him almost the whole time I had been out.

Fast forward to an evening a few weeks ago. Paul and I are still together and have a three-year-old son, James. I went to start crocheting a hat for James’ Halloween costume. Neither end of the just-purchased skein (which needed no further spinning – I now know the difference!) released properly. The ends had been accidentally spun into other strands of the skein.

I knew what lay before me and I remained totally calm. Two hours later, I had made a neatly wrapped ball of wool.

Two balls of wool. Paul’s showed how much patience he had already. Mine showed how much patience I’ve gained. Paul’s foretold that he had a much-needed trait for parenthood. Mine confirmed that parenthood has changed me.

About gwenamon

bookworm, confidante, creative director, cyclist, global wanderer, music lover, shutterbug, shoe shopper, snowboarder, writer, yoga geek. i'm also a very proud mama of a lil mister named james.
This entry was posted in I Ponder and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

