A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki

4813768

The tale is told from two viewpoints: 16-year-old Nao in Tokyo, and a late-middle-aged Ruth on a remote area of Vancouver Island. After the 2011 tsunami, Ruth discovers Nao’s diary and other artifacts in a lunchbox, which has washed up on a beach. Like Ruth, we’re drawn into Nao’s disturbing and captivating world – one in which her father is unemployed and depressed, she’s bullied at school, and the only person she yearns to be near is her ancient great-grandmother, a Buddhist nun. I loved the many, many layers of this novel. It’s about writing and reading, metaphysics, relationships, the environment, faith, purpose, and redemption.

Gwenamon says: Just wonderful. A must-read!

About gwenamon

bookworm, confidante, creative director, cyclist, global wanderer, music lover, shutterbug, shoe shopper, snowboarder, writer, yoga geek. i'm also a very proud mama of a lil mister named james.
This entry was posted in I Read and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Tale for the Time Being by Ruth Ozeki

  1. kainzow says:

    Ever since I saw it in the shortlist for the Booker Prize,I have been wanting to read this book.However I wasn’t quite sure if I would love tit; maybe it only has a nice cover and title.Apparently it is a great read.But would you so far as to call it a masterpiece?

    By the way,I’ve been through your blog and the classics and contemporary gems you’ve read imply that you’re fond of quality literature – something rare to find here.Obviously I’m totally digging your blog! Keep it up! :D

    • gwenamon says:

      Thanks so much. No, I wouldn’t call it a masterpiece, but it is a great read. I’ve finally gotten to the point in my life where I don’t HAVE to finish a book if I don’t like it. That thinking has been rather liberating and now I start books that I’m unsure I’ll love. If I do, I keep reading. If I don’t, I’ll go to about page 100 and give up.

Leave a Reply

