Guernica by Dave Boling

I really like fiction that is based in fact so I end up learning as well as getting lost in the story. On that note, Guernica doesn’t disappoint. I found the characters incredibly rich and believable. Their love and strife educated me about the Nazi bombardment of Spain on the cusp of WWII. I loved their stories. I also learned more about the impetus for Picasso’s painting of the same name. However, I didn’t love the disconnection between the characters’ tales. Some characters are dropped for over a hundred pages at a time, making their re-appearance a surprise.

Gwenamon says: Very enjoyable, but somewhat fragmented

About gwenamon

bookworm, confidante, creative director, cyclist, global wanderer, music lover, shutterbug, shoe shopper, snowboarder, writer, yoga geek. i'm also a very proud mama of a lil mister named james.
This entry was posted in I Read and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

