Four Things I Never Knew About Motherhood

Yes, I expected to be tired from sleep deprivation. I also expected to love my babe lots and lots and because of it, to lose my ability to be an extra-ordinary multi-tasker. Sure, all of that is par for the course. However, I never knew about the following four things. And I’m sure there are many unknowns yet to come. Oh boy.

1. I want to stop my baby’s crying immediately. I mean IMMEDIATELY.
I can’t stand for James to cry. I guess it’s something primal because I can’t take it. Paul teases me about my hard-wiring. Due to said wiring, I’ve come to use the pacifier as a cork. I’m not happy about that but it makes me happier than the cry. I feel like a wuss. I am trying to toughen up. Today I did a full wardrobe change and some other unpleasant—in James’ mind—task with no pacifier in sight. Baby steps.

2. I’m still hungry ALL OF THE TIME.
When I was building James inside of me, I accepted that it was taking a lot and I, therefore, needed to eat accordingly. Well, I think I may even need to eat more now that I’m nursing the babe. As well, I’m also thirsty all of the time. Given that I have always had a very healthy appetite and a fast metabolism, this means I really could be eating around the clock. James, however, has other plans for me.

3. Nursing hurts, and not where you’d expect.
Even my longest hours at the computer didn’t prepare me for the aching neck and shoulders I have. Ouch. And yes I have the pillow with the God-awful name: My Brest Friend. I love looking at James while he’s breastfeeding. My neck doesn’t. Its roaring pain has been a great motivator to get back into yoga and pilates, even if it means less sleep. Doing anything means less precious sleep. Sigh, so be it.

4. I’m a preferential light sleeper.
Before James, I was a really light sleeper. I’d curse the Fatty McStompies who live above, hate when morning traffic began on the busy street outside our window, and groan when the Saturday-night bar-goers would feel compelled to scream at the top of their drunkenness. No longer. I sleep through all of that now. It’s rather shocking. However, Mr. James just has to make one little grunt and I’m wide awake. I marvel at nature’s programming.

All you seasoned moms out there can wipe the smug smiles from your faces. You should have warned me! ;)

(photo thanks to Paul)

About gwenamon

bookworm, confidante, creative director, cyclist, global wanderer, music lover, shutterbug, shoe shopper, snowboarder, writer, yoga geek. i'm also a very proud mama of a lil mister named james.
This entry was posted in I Ponder and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Four Things I Never Knew About Motherhood

  1. Love your blog! Yes, motherhood does have its…moments. But hang in there, it is so worth. I am new to wordpress, kind of hard to navigate the website, but I’m learning! I wrote an article in HubPages about the birth of my fifth child. You can read it if you’d like. It is very inspirational I think and will show you how all those “new mommy pains” are worth it.
    Here’s the link if you’re interested: http://stayingalivemoma.hubpages.com/_stayingalivemoma/hub/Native-American-Names-for-Your-Baby

    • gwenamon says:

      Your story is incredible. Lakota is a miracle and I’m sure you still marvel everyday. I also marvel. James had a traumatic entry into the world at 26.5 weeks. Babies can be amazing little fighters!

  2. Nicole says:

    Dee-Wee – Remember laying me on my belly on your bed and teaching me all the chest opener exercised – do ’em my friend. I ended up in physio because I ignored the nursing/hugging hunch for too long. Keep it up my friend, you are doing the most important job in the world! xon

Leave a Reply

