The Tin Drum by Günter Grass

I did it! I finally finished this novel. It’s like nothing I’ve ever read before; I’d compare it to Pynchon meets Marquez. Phew. It’s by no means a page-turner, but it’s craziness kept me slogging through, sometimes to my confusion. I was told the tale of Oskar who wills himself to stop growing at three-years-old, when he gets a toy drum from his mom. He speaks of himself in both first- and third-person, spinning (drumming?) his story from a mental hospital. He tells of his pre-war years, WWII, and the aftermath. A tonne of things happen to him: from piercing glass windows with his voice, to crazy love affairs, to joining a dwarf circus which entertains the troops.

Gwenamon says: Slow-going, but worthwhile for it’s crazy uniqueness

About gwenamon

bookworm, confidante, creative director, cyclist, global wanderer, music lover, shutterbug, shoe shopper, snowboarder, writer, yoga geek. i'm also a very proud mama of a lil mister named james.
This entry was posted in I Read and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

