Old = Good



A week or so ago, I went to the Alameda Point Antiques and Collectibles Faire – the largest one in Northern California. Along with sensory overload, I encountered lots of childhood memories. (Let’s not even start to talk about how I’m apparently old enough to have my childhood represented at an “antiques” fair.)

There was the coffee grinder my grandma used to have. I loved cranking the beans through it before Sunday dinners. I also saw the old, wooden yard sticks she had collected from various businesses. They made great fairy wands and fishing rods. Down another row of the fair, I ran into my once-loved doll house. It’s still under my parents’ basement stairs, I believe.

I was reminded of how much I love wind-up clocks, because of their faces and their colours. I found a box of Little Golden Books which pretty much represented my first book collection. I adored those books. Also, I remembered how much I’ve always wanted a Steiff bear or giraffe, perhaps because of my German heritage, but most likely because they have such a classic, storybook look.

Good times!

About gwenamon

bookworm, confidante, creative director, cyclist, global wanderer, music lover, shutterbug, shoe shopper, snowboarder, writer, yoga geek. i'm also a very proud mama of a lil mister named james.
This entry was posted in I Spy and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

