Stitches and Needles

Isn’t this beret pretty? I’m going to start knitting it this weekend. I haven’t worked on a project in a while and I feel the need to make something.

Natalie Larson created the beret’s pattern, which I found on Ravelry – it’s a must-visit community site for anyone who knits or crochets. I particularly like that it lets me search for patterns by the type of wool I have (leftover).

I’m also no longer daunted by a circular pattern, because instead of having to use double-pointed needles (DPNs), which have frustrated me greatly in the past and caused me to lose stitches, I now proudly own a KA “Switch” Bamboo Interchangeable Circular Knitting Needle Set.

I highly recommend it to anyone who’s considering buying a needle set. The needles are light, the joints are smooth, the connectors don’t come apart, and you get all of the sizes you need in one pretty, compact package. Leave it to the Japanese and their great design chops. Also, I like that the needles are made of sustainable bamboo. I was finding it extremely wasteful to buy a new pair of needles for each project.

About gwenamon

bookworm, confidante, creative director, cyclist, global wanderer, music lover, shutterbug, shoe shopper, snowboarder, writer, yoga geek. i'm also a very proud mama of a lil mister named james.
This entry was posted in I Spy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

