A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius by Dave Eggers

Incredible writing. I found the preface and the MTV interview too forced, and that’s why I’d give this book a 4 rather than a 5. But most of the time the book’s self-consciousness works amazingly well. I’ve never disliked a character so much but kept reading – the style is that good.

Gwenamon says: Yes!

About gwenamon

bookworm, confidante, creative director, cyclist, global wanderer, music lover, shutterbug, shoe shopper, snowboarder, writer, yoga geek. i'm also a very proud mama of a lil mister named james.
This entry was posted in I Read and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius by Dave Eggers

  1. chickpea says:

    Have you read anything else by Eggers? I’m about to start What the What.

  2. Morag says:

    His description of his mother’s cancer really took me back, and I didn’t want to be there. That stopped me continuing the first time.

    The second time I tried, I found the writing superb but a little too self-referential and grandstanding in places — the MTV interview for sure.

    I never made it through.

  3. Pingback: You Shall Know Our Velocity! by Dave Eggers | gwenonichi

Leave a Reply

