Morning

Unspoken, shared understanding is rare, especially between strangers. But I was lucky to have it the other morning. I stepped onto the subway with both sunglasses and iPod on. Yes, I wanted to be left alone. After a few seconds, I recognized a guy whom I used to work with. We know each other but not very well; we’ve had many small talks. He also had an iPod on and was reading a newspaper. We saw each other at the same time and shared a big smile and a wave. C’est tout. Perfect. I didn’t want my quiet morning time trespassed upon, nor did he.

That reminded me of another morning quite a few years ago when I saw a good work friend on the streetcar. There even was an empty seat beside him. And though I liked him immensely, I couldn’t help but feel disappointed because I really wanted to keep reading my amazing book. Plus I was still waking up. He looked tired too and he was plugged into his music. So I sat down beside him and made a suggestion: you keep listening to your music and I’ll keep reading. He gave me a big grin. We shared comfortable silence, getting ready for the day’s onslaught. No surprise that when we had to spend weeks at a client’s in another city, we met before the rest of the team to get our Starbucks together…very quietly.

About gwenamon

bookworm, confidante, creative director, cyclist, global wanderer, music lover, shutterbug, shoe shopper, snowboarder, writer, yoga geek. i'm also a very proud mama of a lil mister named james.
This entry was posted in I Ponder and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Morning

  1. Jason says:

    Ahh. If only more people thought the same way as you! People can’t seem to understand that people would actually like some quiet time to themselves!

Leave a Reply

