Winter Insulates

On the last really cold day, I was standing at the street corner waiting for the light to change. Next thing I knew I was getting bumped into. I turned to look at who had done it and await my apology.

It wasn’t coming. The guy was so bundled up in his poofy parka that I doubt he even felt that he made contact with another human. I turned back.

Another guy had appeared on my left, also smack beside me. He was oblivious to his position because he had his hood up, and thus had no peripheral vision.

I was in a parka sandwich! I had to giggle because there wasn’t anyone else around, yet I had these two, looming, bundled sentinels beside me, clueless to how much they were encroaching on my personal space for no other reason than their fearsome weatherproofing.

Since then I’ve been noticing how winter changes space for Torontonians. Sidewalks become narrower. Suddenly everyone is walking in single file rather than side-by-side. That’s particularly annoying for fast walkers like me. Passing is much harder to do and being patient is also hard for me when I’m behind meanderers. Cars also have problems passing with the snow banks. And it seems fewer people are holding hands because mitts and gloves are hard to grasp onto. Plus the dreaded ice patch would take two out rather than just one.

We really are insulated in the winter. Sure, it’s for good reason but the fall-out is that we are insulated from one another, from making contact and being friendly.

How many more months until the first heated patio opens?

About gwenamon

bookworm, confidante, creative director, cyclist, global wanderer, music lover, shutterbug, shoe shopper, snowboarder, writer, yoga geek. i'm also a very proud mama of a lil mister named james.
This entry was posted in I Ponder and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

