The Symbols Can Get You

I’m all twisted up today. My heart feels pulled in two, towards a happy yet unknown future with so much potential, and back to a past that once was very sweet. Incomparable really. However, there were issues. I see them too. And that’s why tonight I’m signing divorce papers. Ugh.

Perhaps this is too personal for a blog post. (Don’t worry, I’ll spill more into my journal. ;)) I feel, though, that so few people talk about these things and they’re incredibly important. Talking with the few people I know who also have gone through a divorce has helped and inspired me. So I’ll dedicate this post to them and the spirit of sharing.

Right now I’m caught up in the symbols. I’m reminded of why they exist. They make something I’ve mentally accepted suddenly seem very hard. Yet ending a marriage should be hard. A piece of simple paper will come to signify the end of 12 years. However, when I’m not feeling emotional, I know that’s just crazy. I’ll always have those years. I am who I am today because of them…because of him.

I’m also feeling that divorce is a personal mark of failure. Funny, I never used to look at it that way when I’d hear of others divorcing. I still don’t see it that way for them. Now I do for me though. Maybe because I never thought it’d happen to me. I’m pretty sure that feeling will change in time, since there’s the other side. The proverbial other side. I’ve learned so much about me, about what I want and need.

Having a lifetime commitment taken away has shifted my perspective. Most of the time it feels for the better, even if it took me a while to realize. I appreciate the present more. Although my accentuated cynicism amused me (and I hope others), it is thawing. I’ve come to have faith in commitment again. And most of all, I’ve learned that I can survive the things that scare me the most. The everyday things that used to get to me before have been rightly put in their menial places.

So for today and probably longer than I can predict, I’m just going to let myself be sad. The past deserves it. Besides I know new beginnings are waiting.

About gwenamon

bookworm, confidante, creative director, cyclist, global wanderer, music lover, shutterbug, shoe shopper, snowboarder, writer, yoga geek. i'm also a very proud mama of a lil mister named james.
This entry was posted in I Ponder and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Symbols Can Get You

  1. Jason says:

    While this comment is nothing close to what your going through I have to agree with that feeling of failure when your sign a document to end something.

    For instance, I’m having the hardest time canceling my gym membership. I haven’t been in months. I pay the gym $70 bucks a month of free money, while I feel that signing that document to end the membership seems to mean failure to me. But after it’s signed, I know that I’ll feel great about it and have that extra money to help open new doors and to enjoy.

  2. camila says:

    I always thought that being sad is not an option because that would bring back memories and feelings. However it does catch up with me sometimes and tears come out of my eyes just like waves… No control at all. I’m happy to know you allowed yourself to be sad – that takes a lot of courage. I’m a big fan of yours.

    Ps: thanks for the post and for sharing your thoughts.

  3. gwenamon says:

    Thanks Cami, and you’re welcome too. You’re one of those people I was referring to. Just remember, everyone has to go through things differently.

Leave a Reply

