Slippers Should Stay at Home

I had thought that after two summers the slipper fad was finally over with, but I’ve sadly spotted some hangers-on.

You know those slippers I’m talking about? The ones that come in a rainbow of colours, with netting over the toes, topped with a sprinkling of flowers, which I believe are sometimes sparkly. Yes, all of that for a mere $2 a pair in Chinatown.

The low price gives you a clear idea of how well the partakers walk in their “shoes,” which were never meant to see the great outdoors. Although I find the sight of the things visually annoying, I find them more physically troublesome. I’ve lost count of how many women have tripped out of their slippers, onto the sidewalk in front of me. (Yes, I was tempted to step on the back of said slippers a couple of times, but I resisted and never did.) Worse yet, to avoid the nasty tripping problem, women drag their feet when they wear them. That looks really bad. And the sound of dragging feet? Shudder.

Dainty, albeit gaudy slippers cause the most ungainly behaviour. But the good news is that I’ve spotted only two slipper-wearers this season. There’s hope.

Don’t even get me started on Crocs, which were made for the garden.

About gwenamon

bookworm, confidante, creative director, cyclist, global wanderer, music lover, shutterbug, shoe shopper, snowboarder, writer, yoga geek. i'm also a very proud mama of a lil mister named james.
This entry was posted in I Ponder and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

